Sutton Pre School

Learning through play

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS) is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.  Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.
Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and language

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s development and future learning.
As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Your child’s key person will make sure the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. Their learning is designed to be really flexible so that your child’s needs and interests are followed.
Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Make a Free Website with Yola.